With ever-increasing estimates in insured damage for Hurricanes Harvey, Irma & Maria, the strain on infrastructure and resources to repair them is not abating. Harvey is currently being reported by the Governor of Texas as costing up to $180 billion, media reports estimate up to $85 billion for Irma (mostly in Puerto Rico), and now Maria has varying estimates of losses of up to $30 billion.

The effect that this has had upon the insurance industry, though not unexpected, has seen insurers, brokers, agents, loss adjusters and building specialists battling hard on all fronts to cope.

In the immediate aftermath of these catastrophic events, we committed our immediate responders who have been on the ground in a variety of locations since and remain there.

Insurance industry service providers have seen logistical challenges brought about by multiple events; Loss of power, travel chaos, communication facilities and lack of accommodation.  Basic needs to be able to function properly have cursed the industry’s desire to respond flawlessly.

A new generation of insurance claim managers find themselves at the coalface responding to these magnitudes of losses for the first time. One cannot overlook the looming reinsurance renewals, which are pushing our insurance clients into an urgent need for information to validate loss estimates.

Given the scale of losses that are being reported, we are ensuring that every available resource remains fully committed to assisting with the estimation and settlement of as many claims as quickly as is possible.

We want to ensure every one of our clients has direct access to our experts, therefore if you wish to discuss any issues you may be facing around conditions on the ground and to get technical support for damage to affected buildings, infrastructure, petrochemical facilities, equipment and machinery then please contact any one of the below to discuss.

Los Angeles, CA: Bruce Arita – Insurance Services Practice Leader
Tel 310.367.9302
BArita@ThorntonTomasetti.com

London, UK: Lenny Alexander – London Market Coordinator
Tel +44.7525.628.043
LAlexander@ThorntonTomasetti.com

Dallas, Texas: Nicolas Saenz, Ph.D., P.E., S.E.
Tel 214.846.4056
NSaenz@ThorntonTomasetti.com

Austin, TX: Zachary D. Kates, P.E., LEED AP BD+C
Tel 202.641.1971
ZKates@ThorntonTomasetti.com

New York, NY:  James W. Feuerborn, Jr., P.E., Senior Principal
Tel +1.516.578.6121
JFeuerborn@ThorntonTomasetti.com

Fort Lauderdale, FL: John T. Boyer, Sr., P.E., CPD, GBE, CEM, CEA, CDSM, EXWsm, Assoc. AIA, Principal
Tel +1.814.935.4785
JBoyer@ThorntonTomasetti.com

Miami, FL: Jose Canales, P.E., Senior Associate
Tel +1.347.806.1110
JCanales@ThorntonTomasetti.com